I am a slave to nostalgia

I cannot live in the present moment.
My mind drifts away and I drift with it.
I am carried from the here and now and disappear.
Memory binds and lifts me.
The past never seems to leave me.
I am a slave to nostalgia.

Motionless, I move through endless lives.
Moments snap, I live forever.
How did she speak? What did she say?
They are gone forever, but always I return.
A blink, a breath,
I am baited, I bite.
But the timbre breaks.
And I return.
I am a slave to nostalgia.

The past is dead, but I grave rob.
I mine the cold earth again and again.
I squeeze my fists til they hurt.
The dirt falls through my fingers
And flutters to the ground again.
And again and again.
I am a slave to nostalgia.

I fill the empty vessel in my chest
I let it overflow
And slosh from the sides
I soak up what I can
That washes along the long edge
I want to be myself again
But I can’t remember
that I am a slave to nostalgia.

amazing-pictures-of-nature-black-and-white-5

Leave a Reply

